SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

hobbledehoy, highlights, and Christmas
2002-12-25 � 12:33 p.m.

Hey kids, whats up?

Sorry for the lull in updating, I have been very busy bustling around and sleeping did not happen very often.

I spent an hour yesterday writing a new entry that was very similar to this one, but I pressed the add button and diaryland had a small crash and I lost the whole thing. So I will try again today, however, I am typing it in Word and saving it before I copy and paste it only to be lost again, yesterday I had a small mental breakdown and I don?t want that to happen again. Typing it in Word also means better spelling and capitalization of words so cool.

Lets here it for a word:

hobbledehoy (HOB-uhl-dee-hoy) noun

An awkward young fellow.

[Of uncertain origin.]

"However, the vines are still too young to deliver fruit profound enough for top quality wine. In other words, the Shiraz class was probably compromised by young vines yielding wine that was a little too gawky and hobbledehoy." Michael Fridjhon, Shiraz Falls Short of Expectations, Business Day (Johannesburg), Jul 25, 2002.

"The literature of fandom - Frederick Exley on Edmund Wilson, Boswell on Johnson, Eckermann on Goethe, Goethe on Goethe - presents a skittish equation between subject and author. Thus the first question that might attend a reading of Nicholson Baker's hilarious and hobbledehoy homage to John Updike, now twice-laureled by the Pulitzer Prize, is, `How do you suppose Updike will react?' Robert Taylor, Nicholson Baker Writes About the Updike He Imagines, The Boston Globe, Apr 17, 1991.

"Stick No Bills". Ever seen a wall with that notice pasted on it? That reminds me of the book with an "empty" page with the text: "This page intentionally left blank". Well, in the same vein, this week's A Word A Day theme is intentionally left blank. Instead, I've selected a bunch of whimsical, odd, and fanciful words and brought them together for a week. -Anu

Oh Anu, doesn?t that mean that whimsical, odd, and fanciful words are the theme? Oh he can be so silly sometimes! Just stop it; stop it, ha ha.

Ok so here are the highlights of the past two weeks:

* I almost got fired from mameco because ignorant adults were innocently lying and exaggerating about knowledge I may or may not have had about the results of a survey. This also resulted in me almost getting my sister fired from tremco and my father in very big trouble.

* my boss finally questioned me about it, got the real story, and made it clear that such things should not be talked about b/c it is not fair to other people and I agree. I am not fired. Then we had a great talk where I gently explained to him how to communicate with the workers more effectively, it was amazing.

* I went the terribly amazing HHS choir concert. It was everything I had hoped for. Boo-yah swing choir, I would like to give a shout out to my girls elly, lauren and janie for keeping it real.

* I was invited to the management AKA non-union employee Christmas luncheon. This took place at a very fancy restaurant called Picassos. And you think, wow that is really nice. But then you are like, hmm I am definitely wearing caulking stained jeans, a loud is good shirt, steel toed Harley Davidson women?s regular black boots and a grizzly Z series green baseball cap and you have not showered since yesterday. So I finished my work quickly and went into the bathroom where I removed my cap and tried to make my hair look normal, it was a tiny bit greasy but not gross. Then I was very glad that I brought my ugly fleece. Again, you are like what are you talking about freak? Well wearing ugly green plaid fleece is better than LOUD IS GOOD in screwed up typewriter font with some caulking stains. I wish that they would have invited me the day before, and not the morning of, so I could have showered and brought nice clothes but at least I look halfway presentable. I am relieved to see the people gathering are all wearing jeans. We get to the restaurant and go inside to find all people are dressed very nicely in suits with ties and skirts and then my boss comes in wearing his dirty jeans and a dirty raiders hat. Man, do we know how to cause a ruckus. We were not asked to leave probably b/c we are a party of 19 and the amount of money they will make is disgusting. I wasn?t feeling adventurous or carnivorous, so I just got spaghetti with meatballs. What a day.

* My last day of mameco includes me working for not the full day, but getting paid for the whole day, missing the Christmas barbecue and driving to Athens for the Christmas Friday night supper all while acquiring hold and rework tape.

* I get to hang out with Elise. My longest friend in Ohio. We have been friends since I moved here in5th grade. She is one of the most amazing people I have ever had the opportunity to know. And she owns the Murder She Wrote Game and collects Peter Pan stuff like I collect mulan stuff.

* I stopped in Byesville to get gas for my car. This place consists of a BP, a McDonalds and a school; I wonder where the houses are while I consider buying Pam?s Jams that are available exclusively inside this BP.

* I arrive in Athens to be greeted by lyndsey and ben, which was regina bustman?s glorious sponge cake. We play Nintendo until it is time to go. Duck hunt is not easy. I am amazed by lyndsey?s original two-tone gray Nintendo gun form 1984. At my home we own the 1985 orange and gray one.

* The supper is more wonderful than usual because it is almost 2 hours longer. Emily and chandler have both driven here for the supper as well. I would like to give a shout out to all of the kids club kids. I miss you all very much and I can?t wait until I come back. You kids are all amazing.

* Lyndsey and I decide to be responsible and go to bed at midnight since we both have to drive the next day. I wake up at 8 and drive back to Akron for an important people rehearsal which equals seeing steve ly.

* I get to make kolachi

* I get to see Lisa, and Katherine and Mary. Lisa I miss you so much and I am sorry for being a jerk. Lisa is one of the few other most amazing people I have ever had the opportunity to know. I would chain myself to a tree or the white house for one of her environmental causes if she wanted.

* I see the Two Towers. It was a nice movie, but I feel like the book provides an amazing enough story and they do not need to change it. It is one thing to leave out stuff b/c of time, but is another to change the story.

* Katherine reminds me that you are never too old to play tip-it and for this I am grateful. She is on the amazing list with Mary too.

* It is Christmas and I live in a country where I can freely celebrate the birth of my Savoir. I can freely thank God for sending His Son to die for us and give us eternal life with God. I thank God for all the blessings He has poured onto my life and the lives of my friends and family.

Merry Christmas everyone.

byeness

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS