SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

family
2004-12-21 � 11:02 p.m.

family
what a word.
so what I think of as the definition of this word is not what is found in the dictionary, or in the hearts and minds of many people I know. this makes me greatly frustrated.
in the dictionary, family is mainly defined as:
*A fundamental social group in society typically consisting of one or two parents and their children. *All the members of a household under one roof. *A group of persons sharing common ancestry. *Lineage, especially distinguished lineage. *a group of usually related individuals who live together under common household authority and esp. who have reciprocal duties to each other *a social unit living together *primary social group; parents and children *people descended from a common ancestor *a collection of things sharing a common attribute *a person having kinship with another or others *the basic unit in society traditionally consisting of two parents rearing their own or adopted children; also : any of various social units differing from but regarded as equivalent to the traditional family (a single-parent family)
So basically:
*a group of individuals related by blood, marriage, or adoption
the only 2 definitions I could find that I find slightly acceptable are:
*an association of people who share common beliefs or activities
*Two or more people who share goals and values, have long-term commitments to one another, and reside usually in the same dwelling place.
I feel that your family does NOT stop at your �blood line� or the walls of a home, as these definitions indicate.
I define family as:
people you love and care about, people who you are devoted to serving with self-less love, even when it is hard or really really really hard and even if they hurt you really bad or messed things up really bad and if you do not even feel like loving them
But considering the English language seems to disagree with me, I tried to find a word or group of words that means what I think family means.
I found fellowship, brotherhood, communion, familiarity, fraternity, friendliness, intimacy, kindliness, sisterhood, togetherness.
But still, I think that my definition of family should be included in the dictionary, because I feel, I hope, I am not alone.

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS