SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

LOG: Travel to Asheville: Wedding Edition
2008-08-07 � 12:15 p.m.

LOG: Travel to Asheville: Wedding Edition

1 August 2008

7:35 PM � We are driving down Route 8 and we just passed Casey Brevka

8:18 PM � as usual my dad just forced another sad car into the right hand lane and as we zoom past them instead of the traditional gestures of rage and anger just a little boy in the back seat growls at our car.

11:30 PM � We arrive at the Microtel here in Beckley, WV but my room key does not work so my dad went to get them re-charged or whatever

11:37 PM � my dad brings back the new keys and this time they open the door, but we can not open the door past 2 inches because the interior door lock is locked. I suggest that perhaps this room is occupied but my dad does not think it is true and goes to get the desk guy

11:42 PM � the desk guy is convinced we have the right room and brings a crazy device to unlock the interior lock. My dad and the desk guy bang and clank until they get it unlocked and the door swings open to reveal luggage in the room�s hallway and the television on in the corner. The desk guy calls security, I go back in my parent�s room.

11:45 PM � the extremely embarrassed desk guy realizes I am in another room and presents my dad with the keys to the correct room while saying �I am in so much trouble� over and over again. I think the funniest part is the person who was in the room we broke into never woke up or came to see what all the noise was about. They must be a sound sleeper.

2 August 2008

7:01 AM � I just hit the snooze and went to lie back down for a bit but the giant mirror behind the bed plus my tiredness equaled lack of depth perception and I smashed my head into the wall, so much for more sleep.

7:58 AM � It just thundered so loud I thought there was an explosion in the next room, a car alarm is now going off.

9:15 AM � �So what I was grumpy, get over it� � Mom

9:24 AM � we pass a truck with a rubber chicken hanging off the back of it

11:20 AM � �Oh my brakes are out! Oh no! well I guess I will just look for the next truck ramp� � Mom

5:00 PM � The wedding was nice, we are now at the reception

7:43 PM � my cousin Brett tells me a story about how he drove a 3.5 hr trip in 1 hour.
8:27 PM � Clogging (my cousin Ben, the groom, is a clogger and some of his clogging friends are here too)

9:24 PM � Aunt Christine: Yeah, that�s like when dad farts under a blanket and puts your head in there
Megan: Yeah, that doesn�t smell great

9:30 PM � After an extensive conversation (about 10 minutes now) about farting/pooping at work or not farting/pooping at work
Jonathan: Now I need to use the restroom
Aunt Christine: Well wait until we get back to the hotel room
Uncle Andrew: What? Just go in the one here. What do you gotta go? 1? 2? 3?
Jessm: 3 is never good
Dad: (laughing) can somebody tell me what 3 is?

3 August 2008

9:16 AM � Dad just tried to drive away while I was still climbing into the side door of the van. Ouch.

9:31 AM � �It�s like stutterers who can�t talk but they can sing, she can�t walk but she can dance!� � Uncle Smokey

10:00 AM � �I am just floating like an east river cadaver� � Uncle Smokey�s friend Bill

10:10 AM � I am forced to pass bacon from my mom to my dad with my hands, no plate

10:40 AM � Aunt Marion: Did everyone have a good time at the Wedding?
Christina(the Bride): Yes at least that is what they tell us, unless they are all lying to us

11:15 AM � we are driving back home, it was awesome to see everyone.

2:48 PM � as we drive through West Virginia, we keep passing these billboards that say YES, COAL. CLEAN, CARBON-NEUTRAL COAL from the Walker CAT company. This is crazy because coal can not be carbon neutral because it is carbon. If you don�t believe me you can check out this blog entry Clean, Carbon Neutral Coal? with many explanations about how coal is carbon.

7:50 PM � Home

Captain�s Note: If you want to learn more about mountain top removal mining and how to help stop it please visit http://ilovemountains.org/ and watch this video

This is Captain Jessica Signing off

byeness

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS