SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

LOG: NYC and Boston: The East Coast I love the Most - Part 3
2008-08-27 � 4:04 a.m.

LOG: NYC and Boston: The East Coast I love the Most - Part 3

Saturday 23 August 2008

1:47 PM � Kath, Tim, Peter and I are in Concord at the Minute Man National Historic Park. Here is a conversation we just overheard:

Little boy: Annika hates it, HATES IT!
Dad: why?
Little boy: Because! It is all like British, British, British, even though they didn�t even win!

2:33 PM � �It�s like an M.C. Escher Illusion. It was all zigs and zags and when you put it on it was all zigg-y and zagg-y�- random lady

2:36 PM � �May the God of your choice bless you� � random guy�s shirt

4:48 PM � We are now at Walden Pond. You know like Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau and stuff. Walden Pond is actually gigantic, like a huge deep lake. It is beautiful. Here is something I just overheard:

�yeah and I felt my hair and it was just fine so I was like I know who it is! It is Harry in the ballroom with the lead pipe!�

5:20 PM � This lady sitting near me has stealthily changed out of her bathing suit but now wearing regular clothes she also wears a captain�s hat.

5:31 PM � Peter wanted to go someplace �more private� to change out of his swimming trunks back into his shorts. He hops down from this ridge we have settled on to lower ground. We happened to notice all these people walking by Peter a moment later. As it turns out Peter chose the trail as his changing location.

Sunday 24 August 2008

12:30 PM � Kath: Tim, these are the birds you tortured
jessm: Tim, you tortured birds?
Tim: Yeah, I did, and I would do it again

1:12 PM � �And he took me to see 8 Mile at like 11:30 at night, and of course I fall asleep. My bedtime is like 11.

3:25 PM � I am getting the Kath and Tim tour of the Freedom Trail. We would like to make a note that we should research �writs of assistance� & James Otis, and where Ben Franklin was born.

3:38 PM � The oldest public school is now filled with steak and lawyers

5:47 PM � some lady has a bag that says �Let�s put the fun back in dysfunctional�

8:02 PM � we are waiting in the mob at the famous Mike�s Pastry. A group of teenage to twenty something girls just walked in. All of them have a clump of their hair raised straight up into the air because it is attached to a helium balloon. Each balloon says something degrading. Here are the ones that Tim and I could read from where we were standing.
�It cost me a fortune to look this cheap�
�I give myself hickey�s to look popular�
�I stuff my bra�
�I stalk boys on myspace and facebook�
the youngest girl in the party had this one: �I (heart) Dicks�
and the mom/adult chaperone had this one: �Ex-Stripper�

what a wholesome and considerate act to perform in a crowded bakery full of families and small children.

Monday 25 August 2008

11:42 AM - Here is another quote from Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, A Man Who Would Cure the World by Tracy Kidder
Pg. 49 � �I mean, what could be more religious than Lord of the Rings or War and Peace?� � Dr. Paul Farmer

2:12 PM � Kath just dropped me off (aka rode the T with me all the way there) at the airport. I had a lovely time and will miss Kath and Tim very much as well.

2:31 PM � �I just don�t think that girls should be taller than 5�3� or 5�4�. When I was growing up they were never taller than that. You didn�t have these really tall girls running around with short guys. I think it is all the hormones in the milk� � middle aged airport security guy

5:21 PM � I am on my flight from Boston to my layover in Detroit. For some unknown reason there is a large crowd of people in the aisle next to my seat back here by the toilet not waiting to use the toilet but instead all trying to look out the window in the opposite row from mine. By crowd I mean about 9 people. Weird.

10:31 PM � Welcome to the CAK

11:21 PM � Home

this is Captain jessm signing off.

byeness

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS