SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

LOG: NYC and Boston: The East Coast I love the Most - Part 2
2008-08-27 � 3:15 a.m.

LOG: NYC and Boston: The East Coast I love the Most - Part 2

Thursday 21 August 2008

1:22 AM � We are at this bar called the Cubby Hole in the West Village. Steve brought me here to look for some of my people, but it is mostly his kind of people. The funniest part is this man who is balding but has let the back grow into a gray jerry curl type fro. He really likes to dance and dances to every song the same exact way. This mostly includes him moving his arms in wild circles while stomping the ground so hard that it shakes the entire bar.

1:24 AM � Bogdan accuses Steve of being a republican.

1:27 AM � this very intoxicated middle aged dude, wearing pleated khaki pants and a blue dress shirt tucked in and still wearing a backpack all around the bar, just came up to Steve and Bogdan, who are holding hands and clearly deep in conversation and asked if it was a private conversation. Eventually Steve gets this dude to come talk to me instead and Steve escapes to the bathroom. While Steve is in the bathroom, backpack dude leans in and asks me �do you think I have a chance?� now I am not super sure if he meant a) with steve b) with bogdan c)with them both or d)with me, but I confidently and sternly said NO. backpack dude sadly looks at me and says �really you don�t think so?� and I say that I am super sure. Then backpack dude looks at the crowded bar and says to me �so you think I would have a better chance at the bar?� and I say yes indeed he would probably have a better chance there. He shakes my hand and thanks me for my help and wanders toward the bar with his backpack still on. As soon as Steve is back from the bathroom we leave before backpack dude has a chance to talk to us again.

2:47 AM � of course instead of sleeping I am watching the Olympics. Anyway, all I have to say is watch out Steve Stevenot, Great Britian has a marathon swimmer named David Davies.

11:42 AM � of course now that I am awake again and waiting for Steve I am watching the Olympics. Anyway one of my favorite parts of the Olympics is seeing everyones names and combining names to make new and hilarious names.
Examples:

Beezie Madden (Equestrian, USA) + Keith Beavers (Swimmer, Canada) = Beezie Beavers

Fanny Fischer (Flatwater Kayaker, Germany) + Liam Tancock (Swimmer, Great Britian) = Fanny Tancock

2:19 PM � jessm decides to rename Hedwig and the Angry Inch as Hermione, Harry�s Other Owl

4:23 PM � Steve is showing me the Teacher�s College where he goes to grad school. I have to get a visitor�s pass, which is fine except that the security guard wrote 8/19/08 on it and today is 8/21/08.

5:21 PM � �Ok mammogram, fuck-off� � jessm to Steve and he snaps a home-made cd case open and close dangerously close to her boobs.

6:26 PM � Steve moons me.

10:00 PM � packing. I will miss Mr. Steve very much.

Friday 22 August 2008

5:30 AM � Scott�s roommate has been in the bathroom since 5:00 AM but has not flushed or turned on the shower, which is sad because Scott and I both have to pee.

6:10 AM � Finally she comes out, but there is only time to pee before heading out to catch the Bolt Bus.

12:37 PM � I highly recommend the Bolt Bus. It was on-time, clean, comfortable and the driver was hilarious. I then easily took the T (Boston�s subway) to the campus of Boston College, where I am now waiting to meet Kath.
Here is another quote from Mountains Beyond Mountains: The Quest of Dr. Paul Farmer, A Man Who Would Cure the World by Tracy Kidder

Note: WL = White Liberals

Pg. 40 �I love WL�s, love�em to death. They�re on our side. BUT WL�s think all the world�s problems can be fixed with no cost to themselves. There is a lot to be said for sacrifice, remorse, even pity. It�s what separates us from roaches.� � Dr. Paul Farmer

Words to look up: stentorian, inculcate, laconic, prophylaxis, palliation, and alternate definitions of avengence

1:59 PM � �I need to stop being so judgemental about chocolate� � Kath

3:19 PM � Kath and I pass some new aged puritan shoes on a ledge below a window (not a sill) as we walk the Black Heritage Trail

4:57 PM � we pass a little boy enthusiastically punching himself in the face while making exploding noises

8:48 PM � We (Kath, Tim, Peter and I) are at Free Friday Flicks at the Hatch Shell watching Grease. The people at the blanket in front of us are talking about which songs are their favorite. This one lady says that when Rizzo sings �There are worse things I could do� is her favorite. Now if you don�t remember this morose song, check out the lyrics. This is perhaps the most depressing song in the whole movie. An interesting choice of fave, I think I will stick with �beauty school drop out� which is sad but fun, more of a dark humor.

9:59 PM � The lawn in front of the Hatch Shell full of split popcorn
Kath: The birds will have a hayday!
Peter: You mean a Popcorn day!

10:22 PM � There is a motorcycle stopped at a stop light blasting YMCA from their stereo. The funniest part is the people riding in a bike taxi behind them are doing the hand movements.

10:27 PM � Kath: You�re a Wakaka
jessm and Tim: what?

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS