SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

Soap box alert! Sarah Palin...
2008-09-02 � 1:52 a.m.

first of all, props to E.L. aka Minnow for the CA log that had me laugh a lot. my favorite quote �What if my hands were sporks? �- machel

second of all, props to Paul Krugman and his explanation of how republicans and democrats are different

third of all, Sarah Palin. I am not a huge fan. the teet asked �i�m curious as to what jessm thinks of this. also, can you relay to us the truth about The Bridge to Nowhere? also, can you tell us what Palin has done in Alaska? are there roads there yet? a solid waste collection system?�

the truth about The Bridge to Nowhere?
I must say I am not an expert about that and know very little. Here is some NY Times

Alaska does not have too many roads yet: �Aviation touches all aspects of life in rural Alaska, and is a basic mode of transportation because approximately 90% of Alaska is not served by roads.�

And there is not much solid waste collection either, I will let y�all read my thesis when I am done with it.

Finally, what do I think of this?

I think it was a bad choice. To quote Dorothy Surrenders �With only 20 months as governor and the mayorship of a town of less than 9,000 people on her resume, why was she selected when other much more experienced Republican women were passed over?� Also I have questions: why did she have a baby during her first term as Governor? Wouldn�t you choose one or the other as both are very important jobs? Why isn�t she spending her time taking care of her new baby with down syndrome instead of campaigning for VP? And to quote Dorothy again �Governor, you�re no Tina Fey. And; more to the point; Sarah Palin, you�re no Hillary Clinton.�

And I will quote NY Times Op-Ed Columnist Gail Collins �The idea that women are going to race off to vote for any candidate with the same internal plumbing is both offensive and historically wrong.�

and NY Times Op-Ed Columnist Maureen Dowd �(Why do men only pick women as running mates when they need a Hail Mary pass? It�s a little insulting.)�

Maureen Dowd�s is particularly hilarious though I am properly offended with her describing Alaska as �an oversized igloo�

What has Palin done for Alaska?

I don�t know. The 30 weeks I lived in Alaska, nothing Sarah Palin did stuck out, was brought up in my classes or was discussed by any people I talked to.

I do know I am not a fan of her stance on most issues which you can see for yourself here She is Pro-Life, Pro-Death Penalty (aren�t those two contradictions?) She is pro-drilling in ANWAR and she is pro-oil and big business in general. And I would like to quote my pal from Far From Nome �Palin doesn't support women's/ people's rights.�

So be safe USA, don�t be fooled by Sarah Palin.

byeness

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS