SUSTAINABILITY
LINKS
SMART STUFF

Time in Macedonia

Time in Aberdeen, Scotland

Time in Hudson, OH

Time in Chicago, IL

Time in Seattle, WA

Time in Fairbanks, AK

Time in the Philippines

Disclaimer: The comments on this page do not express the views of Peace Corps, the United States Government, or any other organizations named in these pages.

LOG: ORANGE COUNTY
2008-09-15 � 4:50 p.m.

LOG: ORANGE COUNTY

Eastern Standard Time

Thursday 4 September 2008

3:05 PM � After waiting for 2.5 hrs, they have finally been honest with us about how our flight to Chicago O�Hare is cancelled because of Hurricane Gustav. They are re-routing me through Dallas Fort Worth. Our nearly empty plane is taxiing around. I lost my official window seat but due to the emptiness of this plane I just took one after they closed the door.

3:12 PM � �I wonder how the gas mileage is for this thing?� � One of the eight 18 year old boys on this flight who are on their way to boot camp for the Marines.

3:36 PM �These Marine dudes have never been outside of Ohio before or on an airplane before. They are amazed at everything from the fasten seatbelt sign to the beverage service.

3:47 PM � One Marine dude across the aisle from me is reading a note presumably from his high school girlfriend, as it is written on wide-ruled loose-leaf and was folded in a complicated manner. I wonder what it says. I feel guilty about being so judgmental about what I speculate it says.

Central Standard Time

5:01 PM � lady in the DFW bathroom: oh excuse me! (as she pulls her suitcase away from the sink despite the 19 other open sinks available)
jessm: oh, no problem
lady: yeah I am going to need a major spackle job (as she digs through her purse for something, maybe spackle)

6:17 PM � �WOW! I wish I had wheels that lit up when I rolled my suitcase!� � random lady sitting next to me in the terminal

7:21 PM � �Anthropology concerned itself less with measurements than with meaning. As in mastering a language one had to learn not just the literal meanings of words but also their connotations and to grasp those one had to know the politics and economic systems and histories of a place� � Dr Paul Farmer

8:47 PM � so the really sad thing about Hurricane Gustav re-routing my on a different flight was that I lost my window seat and really seat control all together. So instead of window seat F I am in middle seat B. in the window seat is the giant dude who throughout the whole flight kept watching something on his ipod for about 5 minutes then looks really angry, turns it off and shove it in the seatback pocket. Then 2 minutes later he repeats the process. It is really starting to get annoying. But nothing compared to the old lady in the aisle seat who jerks her head back and forth looking out the windows and gripping the armrests as if the plane will crash any minute.

Pacific Standard Time

8:24 PM � I just walked off the plane into the John Wayne International Airport and literally almost walked into a group of platinum blondes with booty shorts and giant purses with tiny dogs sitting in them. I looked around for cameras and Minnow who would yell just kidding, but they never came. Hilarious. Welcome to Orange County.

8:45 PM � www.aussiepetmobile.com

9:37 PM � jessm: intense dark chocolate
minnow: yeah I stole it from an attorney

9:50 PM � google the blood type diet

Friday 5 September 2008

8:07 AM � jessm: I love how we just passed an adult riding the same bike I had in the second grade. You know, the pink one with purple handles, giant plastic slash guards on the front and back wheels and a banana seat
minnow: yeah everyone around here has those cruiser bikes

9:06 AM � I am eating breakfast a diner minnow recommended. They are showing Fox 11 News., Good Day LA. The weather forecast by Jillian is the worst I have ever seen. She is never talking about the image they have on the screen, she is reading off of a piece of paper, and fumbles over almost everything she says. She is very beautiful but I will take Dick Goddard�s professionalism over this any day.

9:17 AM � This is really the worst news I have ever seen. It is painful to watch and makes me sad but also reminds me why I mostly read the newspaper online.

11:22 AM � I am at the South Coast Plaza Mall here in Costa Mesa, CA. It is hilariously fancy and full of great people watching. Toddlers and babies in designer clothes, parents are crazy.

11:29 AM � �The fact that any sort of religsous faith was so disdained at Harvard and so important to the poor � not just in Haiti, but elsewhere, too � made me even more convinced that faith must be something good� �Dr. Paul Farmer pg 85

12:19 PM � There is a sign and phone number for the no graffiti hotline

12:23 PM � http://www.americannuts.com/

Sunday 7 September 2008

2:35 PM � http://www.lipstickbailbonds.net/

3:37 PM � http://www.sofaulove.com/ Sofa U Love but with a heart as the o in sofa

4:43 PM � Dave: And you think corn floss is weird?
KT: what�s corn floss?

4:52 PM � �Mother�s Mead� � KT

5:31 PM � jessm: (laughing) is that a seatbelt extender?
Minnow: (laughing) no that is to put my surfboard on the roof!

6:06 PM � �Dry ice? Man that stuff makes your throat burn when you inhale it� � KT

6:07 PM � �That is not a skinny pizza, that is a cracker� � Samantha

6:14 PM � �I have a friend who sometimes pretends to be a rabbit� � Samantha

6:15 PM � �No, Gina mad the log because she thinks she is a helicopter� � Samantha

6:20 PM � �How�s your cracker guys?� � Samantha

7:05 PM � jessm: all she drank was ensure
Samantha: is that like pediasure?
Jessm&KT: yes but for old people

Monday 8 September 2008

9:14 AM � Jessica chokes on her potatoes at the Omelet Parlor for about 2 minutes

9:57 AM � As KT and I finish taping up this box I am bringing home for Elise an old man walks by and says �is this the shipping department?� and then bursts out laughing as he walks into the Omelet Parlor

This is Captain Jessica signing off

Leave a Comment!

Chicago to Seattle - 2014-05-27
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 3 - 2011-07-24
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 2 - 2011-07-23
LOG: Balti-Malti Part 1 - 2011-07-22
LOG: NoVa � The Panda Council Part 4 - 2011-03-27

BLOG ROLL
POP/BLOGS
THERAPEUTIC
NYT BLOGS